One More Time

I reinstated the Magnificence Monday posts and then failed to post. You knew that would happen, right? 😉 Let’s try again. 

___________

Twice in my college years, my roommate, Jessica, and I drove to Colorado, once during Christmas break and once during spring break. We went skiing both times, if I remember correctly. I’ve never been a spectacular skier, and I prefer the slow trails, for sure.

Organizing old pictures is on my to-do list. Somewhere I have a picture of me and Jessica at the top of a ski lift at Monarch. Someone was taking pictures for souvenirs. We were dressed in our ski gear with some tropical props, cause, you know, it’s not very tropical at the top of a mountain.

The top of the mountain is the Continental Divide. It was a cloudy day, so we were up in the clouds most of the day. At the end of our day, I remember we decided to go up the ski lift one more time. I will never forget what I saw. The clouds had lifted and the sun was starting to set. I did not have a camera, but I’m sure it would not have captured the true beauty of mountain peaks as far as my eyes could see.

The fascinating thing about the internet is that someone else took a picture at the top of the same mountain. You can see it here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/75328858@N04/6831043481/

The picture doesn’t quite measure up to what I remember seeing, but take a moment to view the colors and see the peaks in the far distance of the picture. Then, imagine standing there and seeing it with your own two eyes. It was stunning, to say the least.

Nature cries out to the glory of God.

“But ask the animals, and they will teach you, 

or the birds in the sky, and they will tell you; 

or speak to the earth, and it will teach you, 

or let the fish in the sea inform you.

Which of all these does not know 

that the hand of the Lord has done this?

In his hand is the life of every creature and the breath of all mankind.” Job 12:7-10

Take a look out your window. Maybe there aren’t any mountains, but you can still see the glory of God revealed in nature.

___________________________________________

This post is part of Magnificence Mondays. Do you have something marvelous to share? A story, a picture, or anything that comes to mind. Write a post or comment below! And more importantly, notice and remember.

2 thoughts on “One More Time

  1. I remember that photo of you and Jess…isn’t it right on your living room wall? 🙂 I love how the person who took the photo you shared had their ski tips it the photo! Oh and I love that Scripture reference…don’t remember ever seeing it…but I must have…funny how that works 🙂

Leave a comment