Enough.

I’ve been meaning to write about my word for the year. The year is slipping by. Spring and winter have been doing a two steps forward, three steps back dance in my yard. Spring will soon win — I hope!

In past years, my word has come easily. This time, it has been a challenge to figure out the word that correctly conveys my heart for this year. One of my goals has been to declutter our house. I’m making progress on that front, although it seems to go like the spring and winter dance. I have some areas in my life I’d like to declutter, too. But the word “declutter” just wasn’t quite right. I avoided reading about other people’s words for the year so as to not influence my choice.

I was trying a word on for size one day, wondering if it might fit, when a song came on the radio. It was the same song that convinced me to pick the word Grace a few years back.

“Why are you striving these days? Why are you trying to earn grace?” –Tenth Avenue North, By Your Side

Another part of the song starts like this,

“Why are you looking for love? Why are you still searching as if I’m not enough?”

Enough. That is my word.

Is God alone enough? Dare I ask that question and risk a Job-type story happening in my life?

Am I enough? If I never grow or change am I content with being me?

In my best mom voice, “Enough!” Enough stuff. Enough negative thinking. Enough putting off what needs to be done.

And enough procrastinating this post.

2013: The Year of Enough.

ow125-look1

One thought on “Enough.

  1. Pingback: Day 2: A Disclaimer of Sorts | From My Pen

Leave a Reply

