Again

I’m posting late … again … which is perfect, since “again” is the word for this week. 🙂

I think motherhood is a series of agains. (Which might not be a real word, but we’ll pretend.)

You spilled your milk again? You forgot to brush your teeth again? I’m not going to tell you again … !

We do the laundry again and the dishes again and referee disagreements again. It’s never ending, it seems.

I’m trying to remind myself that these never-ending agains are an opportunity to be thankful, because if I never had to do anything again around my house, it would mean no one lived here with me. I would be lonely and sad and still have to do most of those things, because I make messes, too.

So, as I clean the toilet again and fix supper again, may I remind myself to be thankful for these moments and days of doing things again, and again, and again. There will be many opportunities to turn my heart towards thankfulness.

_____________________

5 minute fridayThis post is part of Five Minute Friday, a writing exercise from Lisa-Jo Baker. She posts a writing prompt each Friday and we write for five minutes, and five minutes only. 

4 thoughts on “Again

  1. Whenever I get tired of the “agains” of motherhood I think about our mandate of priviledge to “train up a child.” Every “again” is building into those little lives and helping to shape and mold them into the men and women they will become. Of course, when I remember this, I start again 🙂

Leave a Reply

