Dive

I cannot dive.

It’s pathetic, really. I just can’t do it.

I took swimming lessons as a kid, and at the end of every session it was the same story: “She’s supposed to dive to pass to the next level, but we’ll pass her this time as an exception.” It kept happening. I kept progressing in swimming, but I kept getting the diving exception.

I’m not really sure why I’m so afraid to dive. It looks so graceful and efficient and simple, really.

The truth is, I never dive into anything. I’m not one to jump head first — or feet first — into anything. I have to research and think and research some more and think some more. I stall so long that I forget to jump. And if you try to push me, I’ll probably belly flop. There will be no graceful dive.

There’s probably nothing wrong with being unable to dive into pools or life events. There are benefits to not being a risk taker. I get to avoid the consequences of big mistakes from decisions not well thought out.

There are also consequences to being unable to dive. Namely being stuck on the side of the pool while everyone else is having fun swimming.5 minute friday

_____________________

This post is part of Five Minute Friday, a writing exercise from Lisa-Jo Baker. She posts a writing prompt each Friday and we write for five minutes, and five minutes only. 

8 thoughts on “Dive

  1. You are so not pathetic at all, I can’t dive either and I am a great swimmer and absolutely love doing it. I was never taught how to swim in my life, so I didn’t have the test of diving, but I can swim like a demon in the ocean when it’s choppy so I don’t worry much about not being able to dive. I think that is nice people who dive into things in life but I prefer to observe first, like you, and not dive straight into stuff without looking.

  2. It takes all of us to make life interesting … the divers, the edge sitters, the belly floppers, etc.
    This is what life and love is about, like our Lord’s body with many parts, but each part unique and special!
    Hugs XX
    Mia

  3. It is perfectly fine not to dive! Really…does it get you farther in that pool when you could just jump in like everyone else? As far as life…I know that you will think things through and then make a very informed decision. I respect that quality in you. Some of us don’t do that “thinking things through” stuff very well. 🙂

    • Thanks for the encouraging words, Jessica. I guess a fault of writing for only five minutes is that you definitely miss some things that you might write if you took a longer time. 🙂

  4. Oh I so understand. I used to never do anything that might put me front and centre. I would be perfectly happy just watching. Then I realized that if I didn’t jump in I would miss life – living and enjoyment.
    So I have been trying new things lately. Publishing a book being the biggest one.
    But it is not scary – just work and dedication.
    Blessings,
    Janis http://www.janiscox.com

  5. Ugh. I so get this Practically wrote the same thing in my FMF post this week. Being in the shallow end is safe, ya know? All the action happens out in the deep end where we lose the control to walk . . . we have to depend on Him. . . Praying for you as you make the dive! I’m right there with ya!

Leave a Reply

