Opportunity

Long ago, I participated in Five Minute Friday, a writing exercise from Lisa-Jo Baker. She posts a writing prompt each Friday and we write for five minutes, and five minutes only. I intend to participate regularly this year as part of my goal to spend more time writing, even if it’s only five minutes once a week. I’m already behind because I’m posting on Saturday! We’re off to a great start! 😉

Opportunity5 minute friday

I have a love-hate relationship with the word opportunity. On the one hand, it’s exciting to think of the opportunity of a new year, a clean slate, a fresh start. I like to take the opportunity to have a fresh start in January, the beginning of summer and the beginning of a school year. Might as well have ample chances to have a clean slate.

On the other hand, I easily get overwhelmed by the thought of the many opportunities I have. Where do I start? What do I choose? Am I making the right choice? What is for this season of my life? What should I pursue later?

Sigh.

I must come to see the opportunity to make a wrong choice and be OK with it. I must learn to see failures as an opportunity to grow. I must stop worrying so much about every. little. question.

Maybe that is my opportunity for this new year.

One thought on “Opportunity

  1. Good job on FMF! And no guilt, I do FMFs on Saturday too; sometimes on Tuesdays…
    Opportunity-sometimes that even means the opportunity to make a mistake, and that’s still ok. It’s all part of this process called life, right?

Leave a Reply

