Day 14: Three Strikes

I knew changing my online habits was needed in my life, but on Tuesday of last week I got more confirmation that I was, indeed, working on the correct habit.

I’m doing Beth Moore’s Bible study on the book of James, and what do you know, but her lesson Tuesday talked about social media. She pointed out that The New International  Commentary of the New Testament translated James 2:1, “Do not try to combine faith in the Lord Jesus Christ, our Glory, with the worship of men’s social status.” Like me, she said that social media is not wrong, but we must be careful how we use it.

Then, later that day, my daughter brought home a book home from school. The Berenstain Bears and the Bad Habit! She probably wondered why I laughed when I saw the book.

“OK, God,” I thought to myself. “First it was Bible study, and now this book. I get it. I’m paying attention.”

The real kicker, though, was a conversation with my son who is 8. When I was writing the post about defining the details, he was looking over my shoulders and reading my words. On Tuesday, I took a picture of his name written in cursive and posted it to Instagram. He said something like, “Didn’t I read something about how you were going to quit posting stuff?” I explained that I wasn’t quitting, but I was trying to not spend as much time online so that I would do a better job of being a mom. “Yeah,” he said, shaking his head in agreement, “one time we (he and his sister) talked about how, ‘All Mom cares about is her iPod.'”

Ouch.

Certainly I care about more than my iPod. But if my kids think that’s what I care about most, then I have a major problem. This habit thing is no joke. It is essential to recognize the things that are causing issues in our lives, families and relationships. And it is even more important to not just see the problem but ACT on the problem.

Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says. Anyone who listens to the word but does not do what it says is like someone who looks at his face in a mirror and, after looking at himself, goes away and immediately forgets what he looks like. But whoever looks intently into the perfect law that gives freedom, and continues in it—not forgetting what they have heard, but doing it—they will be blessed in what they do. –James 1:22-25

Let’s be doers. Let’s kick our bad habits and work on good ones. It may have been a day of three strikes for me, but I am not out. We are not out. We always get the chance to start new. This is not a waste of time. This is life. It’s worth it.

2 thoughts on “Day 14: Three Strikes

  1. Pingback: 31 Days to Change One Habit « It's the little things.

Leave a Reply

