Day 9: Tricky Timing

How is your habit change going? Are you starting to wonder, “What was I thinking?!?!” Hopefully things are going well for you, but, if you’re like me, you start to realize that you have horrible timing.

In February, I decided to quit drinking soda for the month. It didn’t take long until we were headed to a Superbowl party with free Pepsi products that I wondered, “What was I thinking? What horrible timing!” Soon after that it was my birthday. We have a little tradition of eating at a Mexican restaurant, and I always order a Mt. Dew with my meal. Always. Again. Bad timing.

I scheduled my Saturday post to be published while I was gone. I ran The Color Run in Des Moines with some friends. I knew a lot of people running in the race, and I was excited to see the photos everyone would be posting on Facebook. Then, I remembered. I had started my 24 hours of no Internet.

I didn’t drink soda back in February. And I waited until Sunday evening to post some pictures and look at all my friends’. (I did peak over my husband’s shoulders as he looked at some pictures on Saturday night.) But, the truth is, in both circumstances I survived.

If we pick a habit to change in a month where that habit will not be challenged, we’re probably missing the point. Waiting for a “better” time or a “perfect” time is silly. There will never be a perfect time. If you are feeling discouraged because you realized your timing is terrible, take heart, you are not alone! You will survive and come out stronger on the other side.

2 thoughts on “Day 9: Tricky Timing

  1. Pingback: 31 Days to Change One Habit « It's the little things.

  2. Pingback: Day 10: Life Happens « It's the little things.

Leave a Reply

