Day 5: Make Your Approach

Two more assignments before we start our new habits! The next one is to pick your approach: gusto or gradual.

Gusto will mean just jumping in full throttle with no looking back. You’re going to quit or start something from the get-go.

Gradual means you will set up some sort of schedule to slowly add or remove something in your life.

Which one should you pick? Well, that depends.

I’ve had a goal for a while to reduce the amount of soda I consume. I eliminated it for a few months a while back. I just finished a soda about an hour ago. It’s a work in progress. I am making progress, though. I’ve tried both gusto (within a time-frame) and gradual, and both have worked at different times. Earlier this year, I just decided to not have soda for a month. It worked. A while back, I can’t remember when, I took a gradual approach. I took a calendar and made an X on one day of one week, two days of the next week, three days of the third week, and so on. I wasn’t allowed to drink soda on the days with an X, no exceptions.

There are positives and negatives of each approach. The gradual method gives you time to adjust, and possibly gives better success. There are built in “cheats” for you to work with. But, sometimes you just need to jump in with some gusto and say “enough is enough!”

I’ll be writing more about my soda adventures in the future. I’ve learned a lot about myself and what works and doesn’t work for me. You will probably find the same thing as you work on your habit.

For now, pick gusto or gradual, and we’ll finish our our assignments tomorrow.

One thought on “Day 5: Make Your Approach

  1. Pingback: 31 Days to Change One Habit « It's the little things.

Leave a Reply

