31 Days to Change One Habit

Habit: an acquired mode of behavior that has become nearly or completely involuntary. (Webster)

Habits. We all have them. Some are good and some are bad. If you’re like me, there are a few dozen you’d like to change. So, let’s all pick one — and only one — and try to change it this month!

Last year I wrote 31 Days of Learning to Run. A more appropriate title might have been 31 Days of Learning About Life While Learning to Run, but that’s kind of a mouthful. My biggest lesson learned is that change is possible, especially if it is slow and gradual. I went from hating to run, to signing up for 5K races. I took time off for winter and to let a sprained ankle heal, but for the most part, I’ve kept running. It’s become a habit. (Not quite completely involuntary like Webster says, but definitely an acquired mode of behavior.) I’m still slow and will not win any race, but I’m doing what works for me.

31 Days to Change One Habit was born out of learning to run. I started 2012 working on a few habits and taking one month to tackle one habit at a time. Some stuck, some need some more work. I skipped a bunch of months, but now I’m ready to tackle one habit in October. Maybe you’d like to join me?

I’m not revealing my habit yet, you’ll have to stay tuned! (And this is my “home” page, so Day 1 is coming later, too.)

I’ll add all of the posts to this page so you can come back here and find them all. Or feel free to subscribe to the blog to receive updates directly to your inbox.

31 Days to Change One Habit

Day 1: Think About Your Habits

Day 2: Mock Trial

Day 3: Decide & The Big Reveal

Day 4: Be Accountable

Day 5: Make an Approach

Day 6: Define Your Details

Day 7: For When You Forget

Day 8: Some 31 Day Helpers

Day 9: Tricky Timing

Day 10: Life Happens

Day 11: Count the Cost

Day 12: Recording Results

Day 13: Gray Skies

Day 14: Three Strikes

__________________________

The 31 Days writing challenge is issued each October by The Nester over at Nesting Place. More than 1200 bloggers are participating! Join in the fun!

3 thoughts on “31 Days to Change One Habit

  1. What a great idea! I’m an all or nothing kind of girl and tend to tackle too many changes at once which basically means I don’t accomplish any of them! I want to join in, but I’ll have to think of the habit I need to change this month.

    • Ah, yes! I’m an all or nothing gal, too! And you’re exactly right, I always think I can do more than is possible. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Pingback: Day 1: Think About Your Habits « It's the little things.

Leave a Reply

