We Do Not Understand

I am sitting here working on my Bible study lesson for tomorrow morning. We are reading Ezekiel, and we are supposed to come up with something meaningful from each verse. It’s just not happening. I’m not getting anything out of any of the verses. Not even one.

Earlier this evening, we met with our couples small group. We’re studying Romans, but we barely got to it tonight because we had so many prayer requests to share and pray for. A boy with an aggressive brain tumor. A mom with cancer spreading. A family that lost their teenage son in a car accident. My heart is heavy and finding meaning in Ezekiel seems pointless. I figure I should just stop writing, close my book and go to bed early.

For some reason, I read on in Ezekiel 1. I’m unsure how to respond to creatures with four heads, but I still read. Finally, in the last verse of the chapter, there is something I can grasp on to.

28 Like the appearance of a rainbow in the clouds on a rainy day, so was the radiance around him.

This was the appearance of the likeness of the glory of the LORD. When I saw it, I fell facedown, and I heard the voice of one speaking.

I finally have something to write in my Bible study book. Do I understand the magnificence of God’s glory? He’s described as being like fire. Brilliant light surrounds Him. Ezekiel immediately fell facedown.

Do I understand the magnificence of God’s glory?

As I write the word magnificence in my book, I realize it’s the very thing I’m trying to remember — the magnificence of God. Yet, it’s something so beyond my comprehension. Will the tiny bites of magnificence we see on earth seem like rubbish when we get a glimpse of His glory? Will we even remember the struggles of this life?

The rainbow gives promise that the earth will never again be destroyed by flood. It’s appearance in the sky gives hope of God’s promises. God’s glory is described like a rainbow on a stormy day. One day, this earth shall pass and we will see His glory.  And we will fall facedown.

I do not understand the magnificence of God’s glory, but I feel like tonight Ezekiel reminded me to keep looking.

17 Now if we are children, then we are heirs—heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share in his sufferings in order that we may also share in his glory.  18 I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us. 19 For the creation waits in eager expectation for the children of God to be revealed.  — Romans 8:17-19

2 thoughts on “We Do Not Understand

Leave a Reply

