One Bite at a Time: Project 1

“Eat a live frog every morning, and nothing worse will happen to you the rest of the day.” — Mark Twain

Project 1 in One Bite at a Time is: Eat Your Frog.

I’ve never tried frog legs. I hear they taste like chicken. And I won’t be trying them anytime soon, because Project 1 doesn’t mean actually eating a frog. It just means that you pick your least favorite task for your day and then do it first to get it over with.

My least favorite task is laundry. And not just because it was the example that Tsh used in the book. I just don’t like laundry. I’m not opposed to starting laundry, it’s the finishing part that seems to be my problem. I get a load in the washer and, usually, even into the dryer. (Am I the only one who has ever had to re-wash a load of laundry because it sat in the washing machine for two days and got smelly? A-hem. Moving on.) But getting things folded and put away is just dreadful, apparently, because I am horrible at getting around to it. (I have a load of laundry sitting in my dryer as I type. This is definitely a project that will be a work in progress.)

I’ve seen numerous organizational and house cleaning experts recommend doing one load of laundry a day. This, in theory, keeps the laundry manageable, doesn’t consume a whole day, and, I suppose, means everyone always has clean underwear.

This week, I’ve tried doing one load a day. A couple days I did two, because I had a backup of items that needed the gentle cycle. Since starting laundry isn’t usually my biggest problem, I tried applying the frog principle throughout the day. For example, one day I washed one load of towels, put them in the dryer and started a second load of clothing. When the second load was done washing, and I was done hanging them to air-dry, I was tempted to continue on with my day. I remembered the towels were in the dryer and decided to “frog” them. I folded them and put them away, instead of my usual “Oh, I’ll do it later.” Yay me!

It really does make sense to do a load a day. My favorite thing is that all the laundry was done by Thursday, which means our weekend can be laundry free! How fun is that?

I also know that this project will take some time to develop into a habit. I’m glad I’m working on it, though, because I already see the value. I’ll check-in in a few months to see how this habit develops. In the mean time, I better go rescue the load from the dryer.

2 thoughts on “One Bite at a Time: Project 1

  1. Good for you Cori! I have tried the one load a day, as well. Sometimes it works and sometimes I fall behind. Oh and you are not the only one who has to rewash a load of laundry because it sat in the washer a day too long. 🙂

Leave a Reply

