One Bite at a Time: Project 6

Here we go on the first project in One Bite at a Time! Well, actually, I’m starting with the sixth project. It is to be done in your own order and at your own pace, you know. I didn’t think I would start with this project, but sometimes things come up and the timing just works.

Project 6 is Create a Family Purpose Statement.

We decided to call a family meeting Thursday night to address some negative attitudes and behaviors that have crept into our family and needed some attention. We’re not sure the success of our meeting overall, but I was pleased with the discussion we had about why God made families and what families are supposed to do/be. The kids had great insight, and I think their ideas make a great mission statement for our family.

The official project suggestion is to spend a few hours discussing a purpose statement with your spouse, so I guess I’m breaking the rules on my first project. 😉 I really like what our kids came up with, I think my husband and I would have come up with a similar statement, and I think it gives our kids some ownership in our statement.

Without further ado, here it is:

Our family will LOVE each other, HELP each other, WORK together, SPEND TIME together, HAVE FUN together, PRAY together, WORSHIP together and SERVE together.

I was thinking it would be fun to make it into some sort of artwork to put in our home, and that was a suggestion from the book as well. Here’s what I came up with:

Leave a Reply

