Day 27: Focus

I was out doing my run/walk routine one morning last fall. It was a Saturday, and it wasn’t dark. I went down a long stretch of street, past the halfway point and rounded the bend to head back home.

As I came back up the same street, I noticed a flurry of activity around a house. There was a garage sale, which meant extra people and cars on the road. I was quite surprised that I hadn’t noticed the sale when I went by the first time. I was on the other side of the street, but you would think I would have noticed the activity on the street.

I realized I was so focused on doing my routine, that I had failed to see what was going on around me. I have to wonder if sometimes I get so focused on the task at hand that I miss opportunities to be interrupted and see something God might want me to see.

Missing a garage sale is no big deal. I mean, I’m all for a good garage sale, but I wouldn’t have stopped my run for this particular sale. I do tend to be task-oriented, though, and wonder how many times I’ve missed showing kindness to someone, a listening ear, a helping hand. Jesus was so good at that. He let people interrupt Him. He was not so focused on His tasks to overlook the hurt, the sick, the blind or the needy.

In fact, when asked how one could gain eternal life, Jesus told the story of people passing by a man in need. The only person to stop and help was considered an outcast in society.

Let’s have passion and focus for the tasks at hand. And let’s not forget to look around, to notice and be interrupted.

2 thoughts on “Day 27: Focus

  1. Pingback: Day 1: 31 Days of Learning to Run « It's the little things.

Leave a Reply

