Day 26: Goal Setting

I was raking my yard yesterday and thinking about how much I prefer yard work to housework. Later that day, I cleaned out our garage, and I felt like that was way more enjoyable than cleaning the house.

What does this have to do with 31 Days of Learning to Run? I’m glad you asked! 😉

This time of year, yard work has an end. Winter is approaching, so there’s a list of things to do before yard work is done for a season. The garage gets cleaned out once or twice a year. Remove items, throw out a few things, sweep and replace items. Done. Over.

Housework on the other hand, is never ending. I pick up toys and before I turn around, more are on the floor. Dishes and laundry are never ending. I prefer projects that have a start and end. I think that’s why I like the Couch to 5K running plan so much.

Training for a 5K provides a good story goal, but it also provides a start and finish. I know I only have to put in nine weeks of running. Then, if I want, I can stop and do something else. Deciding to run three times a week for an indefinite amount of time doesn’t appeal to me, but running for three days a week until I finish a training plan worked great! There is something to work for in a set amount of time. I’m still able to go at my own pace, or switch days when I need to. People who have a passion for running probably don’t need a plan that has an end because they are motivated by their passion. I, on the other hand, am motivated by an ending point.

My fall running season has actually ended. Running in the cold and dark can happen a few times, but not very often for me. I’m about to start an exercise program that is broken down into nine- and 12-week programs. It makes the, “I should get exercise three or four times a week” thinking much easier for me.

Now, I just need to find a house cleaning plan that lasts nine weeks or something. Ha ha!

3 thoughts on “Day 26: Goal Setting

  1. If you find that program for the housework…please e-mail me! I should just take a picture of my house for you right now. I don’t think I have a spot on my counter that is free at the moment. Between homework, papers from school, day care crafts and paperwork, apples and pears, bread, plants, and all the random toys and junk…it is a neverending mess. And the laundry…seriously! The kids don’t put anything away and could leave their clothes sitting on the stairs for a week. I made a rule though that if something is on the stairs when they leave for school it becomes mine unless they want to earn it back. Ok…back to cleaning 🙂

  2. I thought I was the only girl that would rather do yardwork than housework! I can’t begin to tell you how many times I have said that!! Not sure it has to do with the season having an end…I miss mowing in the winter 🙂

  3. Pingback: Day 1: 31 Days of Learning to Run « It's the little things.

Leave a Reply

