Day 25: Give Yourself a Break

Yesterday, we talked about pushing through. When we replace negative thoughts with positive ones, it helps provide the motivation needed to keep running when it’s tough.

Pushing through is good, except when you really need to just take a break.

Many times when I’ve wanted to quit running, I just needed to push through. But a few times I really just needed to stop and walk for a while. Whether I was extra tired or dealing with pain, I had to determine that my best interest was to stop.

I was not stopping forever. I was just stopping for that moment. There is a big difference.

It’s not always easy to know the difference between when we need to persevere and when we need to pause. It probably takes getting it wrong a few times to understand ourselves and our bodies and our situations to learn.

As I was preparing for my first 5K, I was trying to decide what to do about a large hill along the race route. I decided one day to change my usually flat training route and hit a few hills. I did OK for a while, but soon was extremely tired. I wasn’t even halfway through my run, but I knew I was done. It was not a good feeling, but I had to remind myself that running hills is a whole different game.

There was a time late last spring where running felt good, but later in day walking felt really bad. My shins were aching quite badly. I tried to keep up with my running because I was scheduled to run a 5K with my sister-in-law. But when the pain didn’t go away, and was possibly getting worse, I knew it was time to take a break. Pushing through was not the right choice.

There are plenty of times in life when we need to just keep running. But, there are other times when we need to stop, or at least slow down to a walk, because it’s just the right thing to do.

3 thoughts on “Day 25: Give Yourself a Break

  1. Knowing the difference between when to push on and when to slow down has been a challenge for me in life in general. But it’s something God’s working on in my heart, and it’s a lesson that’s creating in me contentment I haven’t felt in a long time.

  2. Pingback: Day 1: 31 Days of Learning to Run « It's the little things.

  3. Pingback: Day 31: The Finish Line « It's the little things.

Leave a Reply

