Day 16: Halftime

I mentioned how much I love my Couch to 5K app when I run. It keeps track of the details so I can focus on moving my legs without being distracted. It has another feature worth mentioning. It tells me, “You’re halfway done!” at the mid-point of my run.

The halfway point is always near our local hospital. I figure if I collapse in a heap on the sidewalk, there’s bound to be a doctor or nurse headed to work that can help me. Although, thankfully I haven’t had to prove this theory.

Since halfway through running there isn’t halftime like a football game, the running continues without a show from the marching band. No pep talk from the coach. It’s just me and the sidewalk.

On one hand, it’s a relief to be halfway done! “Phew! I’ve made it halfway!”

On the other hand, there’s sometimes a feeling of, “Wow! I still have a long way to go!”

It’s easy to start playing mind games at the halfway point. I’m tired. I’ve gone far enough to get some exercise. I know there is more to run, but I’m not sure I’m up for it.

I have to remind myself to focus on finishing and press on.

I’m in the same place with writing about 31 Days of Running.

Wow! I’ve made it halfway!

Wow! I still have a long way to go!

It’s east to start playing mind games at this point. I’m tired of hearing my own voice. I’ve said enough. I’m know there is more to say, but I’m not sure I’m up for it.

And at the halfway point of writing this post I stopped and set it aside. I spent a fun day with my family yesterday and attended church this morning. You’ll never guess what our topic was in Sunday School class. Yep. Running.

It wasn’t directly about running, but more about how Paul used running and athletic training as metaphors for the Christian life.

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. — Hebrews 12:1-2

Wherever you are in your life journey, whether you are just starting, close to finishing or somewhere at the halfway point, you can persevere. Fix your eyes on the finish. Press on to the end. It will not be easy, but it will be worth it.

6 thoughts on “Day 16: Halftime

  1. Way to go Cori! I’m impressed with your writing (as always) but also impressed that you have pressed on and made it halfway without missing a day!! Keep it up…you’re almost there!!!

  2. Pingback: Day 1: 31 Days of Learning to Run « It's the little things.

  3. Pingback: Day 27: Focus « It's the little things.

  4. Pingback: Day 30: One Step at a Time « It's the little things.

  5. Pingback: Day 31: The Finish Line « It's the little things.

Leave a Reply

