Day 7: Deciding to Run

I was with a group of women gathered for Bible study. Everyone sat in a circle of metal folding chairs while I stood, swaying back and forth, trying to get my newest babe to fall asleep. The conversation was about running. “I’ve always hated running,” I said. “I prefer to just walk.”

I’m not sure why I remember that conversation from more than five years ago. Maybe because I might still prefer to walk, if given the choice. 😉

So, how does someone who has always hated running decide to start? That is a good question.

I remember reading a book by Lysa TerKeurst called What Happens When Women Say Yes to God. She talked about deciding to run with a friend. Something about her story caught my attention.

I remember reading a blog post by Donald Miller about writing an interesting story with your life and not just setting generic goals. For example, instead of a goal to exercise more, he decided to climb Mt. Hood with some friends. That meant he would have to exercise and get in shape in order to reach the top of the mountain. So, setting a goal to run a 5K would be a better goal than just deciding to run three days a week or get more exercise. (More on that tomorrow!)

But the thing that most got me interested in running was seeing other people do it. Friends of all types, from athletic to average to one who lost 100 pounds, were running 5Ks. A friend of mine who had open heart surgery ran a 5K. A college friend said something about Couch to 5K and I thought that was a clever name she had invented. My sister-in-law ran a 5K. Someone else mentioned Couch to 5K and I realized my other friend didn’t invent it, but that I could do it, too. I didn’t see any of them run their races. I mostly read about their accomplishments on Facebook.

Who knew so much inspiration could come from Facebook?

2 thoughts on “Day 7: Deciding to Run

  1. Pingback: Day 1: 31 Days of Learning to Run « It's the little things.

  2. Pingback: Day 31: The Finish Line « It's the little things.

Leave a Reply

