Day 2: Running Today

Today I am running a 5K in my hometown. This will be my third 5K. I’m not sure I’m ready for it. So, if you are reading this around 9:00 Central time, say a little prayer for the girl still learning how to run.

I guess you could say this is my fourth 5K. My first was a 5K-ish. It was just me, the local high school track, and two guys and a tractor working on the high school football field. I trained with the Couch to 5K running plan last fall. I didn’t plan very well, because I finished the training plan in early November. I live in Iowa. There are no 5Ks scheduled in Iowa in November because it’s cold. My 5K-ish was me running around the track a little more than 12 times on a cold Saturday morning. And, since I was the only participant, I was the winner!

My first real 5K was in April in the town I currently live in. I ran the whole thing, except for a large hill at the 2.5 mile mark. (Who puts a huge hill at the 2.5 mile mark? I mean, really?)

My second 5K was in June in the Des Moines metro area. I ran with my sister-in-law, and she was so kind to run at my slow pace. I took some time off of running after the race in April and was having some shin pain, so, once again, I did not run the entire race.

Today’s 5K will be with four friends I grew up with. Three others are participating in the actual race and one is our cheerleader. My goal is to finish and run the whole way. So, I guess, if you see this post around 9:00 Central time, you can pray for four runners and a cheerleader. We will all appreciate it.

6 thoughts on “Day 2: Running Today

  1. Prayers are going your way! I love running with other people. My sister ran with me in my first 5k and was also nice enough to go at my pace. Our brother joined us for our first 10k and he runs about the same speed as me so we stayed together and my sister went at her own faster pace. It makes the experience so much more enjoyable to share it with someone. I thought for a while that I was going to have to run my half-marathon by myself, but convinced my brother to join me last minute. Look forward to hearing about your race today!

    • Hi Heidi! Thanks for stopping by! I’m going to have to check out your fitness series! It’s a good match with mine. Impressive that you have done a 10K and are planning a half-marathon! Good luck!

  2. Hope everything went well! I am also a central Iowan and a “reluctant” runner. I have run three 5Ks and am training for a 10K!!! in Mankato, MN on October 22nd. I’m scared, but my husband is doing it too, so we’ll get through it together. I had twin boys (one of them born with kidney failure and is currently on dialysis) in April and I just keep telling myself – what could be harder than that?! Running is cake! I’m so anxious to read your posts. Good luck to you!!

    • “Reluctant runner” — I like that! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by! I popped over to your blog and you have a darling family! I hope your son with dialysis is doing well. Good luck on the 10K! Wowsers! That’s impressive! 🙂

  3. Pingback: 31 Days of Learning to Run « It's the little things.

  4. Pingback: Day 17: Running a Team Sport? « It's the little things.

Leave a Reply

