Day 1: 31 Days of Learning to Run

If you found this post on Pinterest, Welcome! I’m not sure how it got pinned, but it’s been fun to have so many visitors! If you are coming from a fitness board, you might be disappointed, as the series was more about reflections on learning how to run, and how it got me thinking about other things in my life. I do recommend the Couch to 5K program for training to run a 5K. It worked for me!

_______________

I am going to participate in a blogging challenge called 31 Days. I found out about it on one of my favorite blogs, Chatting at the Sky by Emily Freeman. Last year, she and seven other bloggers all picked a topic to write about every day during the month of October. This year, they are challenging others to do the same. [You can read more about 31 Days here. And see the list of participants here.]

I’ve debated if I’m really up for this chllenge. I feel a lot like I did last fall when I decided to learn how to run. It was a big challenge, but I learned so much.

I am not a professional runner. If you want to learn running tips, what kind of shoes to buy, or what to eat before a big race, I don’t have those answers. What I do know is that I used to hate running. In fact, I thought runners were just a little bit crazy.

Then, I started running. And it was hard. And it was good. I learned some about the actual act of running, but I learned a lot more about myself, my faith and really living.

So, join me as I share 31 Days of Learning to Run! [See below for links to the entire series.]

Day 1: 31 Days of Learning to Run

Day 2: Running Today

Day 3: Woo hoo!

Day 4: Learning to Run [Part 1]

Day 5: Learning to Run [Part 2]

Day 6: Courage to Start

Day 7: Deciding to Run

Day 8: Starting a Story

Day 9: The God App

Day 10: Change is Possible

Day 11: Passion

Day 12: Running in the Dark

Day 13: The Corner

Day 14: Delayed Arrival

Day 15: Musical Motivation

Day 16: Halftime

Day 17: Running a Team Sport?

Day 18: Heartbeat

Day 19: Run for Life

Day 20: Adjustments

Day 21: Inspiration

Day 22: Race Day Jitters

Day 23: Rest

Day 24: Pushing Through

Day 25: Give Yourself a Break

Day 26: Goal Setting

Day 27: Focus

Day 28: The End in Sight

Day 29: Thank You

Day 30: One Step at a Time

Day 31: The Finish Line

23 thoughts on “Day 1: 31 Days of Learning to Run

  1. I would love to run again! 2 years ago I got into running. I started running on the treadmill over the summer but when I started running outside, my knee started bothering me. My knee’s had time to recover, so I should get into it again – or at least try! Thanks for inspiring me – I look forward to reading more of your posts!

  2. I have been in that same position. It’s still a love/hate relationship for me and I am currently lacking in motivation. I will stay tuned…maybe you can help get me moving again! Thanks :o)

  3. Hello, I am a newbie runner, just started the beginning of this year. I am doing my first half-marathon in a week and am super nervous, but excited. I also thought runners were a little crazy and hated running initially, but my sister kept pushing me and I have learned to love it! Look forward to reading your posts!

  4. Hi there! I am also a fairly new runner, and I found your site through the 31 Days community page (which I am also taking part int!) I started running this past spring, and I just signed up to run my first little race, a 4-miler on Thanksgiving Day. It was a love/hate relationship at first, but now I really enjoy running. I look forward to hearing your perspective!

    Krysten

    • Hi! Thanks for popping over from 31 Days! I like your “moments” theme. What a great idea! There is something about signing up for a race that helps with the running motivation! I think running before a Thanksgiving feast is a great idea! 🙂

  5. I’ve never been a runner either, but now I’m up to 3 miles in 30 minutes. It’s changing my life. I need to sign up for a race to motivate me to continue improving. I’ll be stopping by during this month!

  6. Pingback: Day 4: Learning to Run [Part 1] « It's the little things.

  7. Pingback: Day 3: Woo hoo! « It's the little things.

  8. Pingback: Running Today « It's the little things.

  9. Pingback: Day 16: Halftime « It's the little things.

  10. Pingback: Day 9: The God App « It's the little things.

  11. Pingback: Day 26: Goal Setting « It's the little things.

  12. Pingback: Day 29: Thank You « It's the little things.

  13. Pingback: Day 30: One Step at a Time « It's the little things.

  14. Pingback: One Word 2012 « It's the little things.

  15. Pingback: Taking that First Run | Running By Grace

  16. Pingback: 31 Days to Change One Habit « It's the little things.

Leave a Reply

