'We have our being'

I love it when verses just seem to jump off the pages of my Bible, as if God is speaking just to me at that moment … and He is. It’s especially cool when I’m reading a passage I know I have read before, maybe numerous times, but for some reason the verses have new meaning, new life.

Here’s a passage that “jumped” for me:

“The God who made the world and everthing in it is the Lord of heaven and earth and does not live in temples built by hands. And he is not served by human hands as if he needed anything, because he himself gives all men life and breath and everything else. From one man he made every nation of men, that they should inhabit the whole earth; and he determined the times set for them and the exact places where they should live. God did this so men would seek him and perhaps reach out for him and find him, though he is not far from each one of us. For in him we live and move and have our being.” Acts 17:24-28

Everything God does is so that we will seek Him. And when we seek Him, we’ll find our life and “have our being.” He really just wants us to seek Him and know Him. To let Him be our life and our breath. It sounds so simple. Why do I complicate it?

Below is one of my favorite songs right now, Alive Again by Matt Maher.

Here’s a quote from Matt Maher’s blog about the song:

I am so fickle in my pursuit of all things, even my passions; terribly inconsistent, and awfully “up and down”. One minute, i’m 100 % committed to something, and the next, i am rather complacent. Oh, how i long for an undivided heart.I think that’s most of us.But i have reached a new place as of late – not so much in my own consistency, but in the greater revelation of God’s.

See, God is relentless in His pursuit of me; and the more i realize it, the more i realize that my journey to Him looks more like His journey to me. That my “pursuit”, is really just my waiting and letting Him in. So as you read this – if you feel far off from God, know that the distance between your perception of His nearness versus the reality of it, is strikingly different.

He is very near. Sometimes, He’s so close it’s hard to see clearly.

I’m glad God broke through my darkness, deafness and blindness … and I know He’ll continue to do it and breathe new life in me daily. I just need to let Him in.

One thought on “'We have our being'

  1. Pingback: Miserable or Joyful? « Cori D. :)

Leave a Reply

