Day 10

So, I just finished day 10 of my Bible readings, and I thought I better hash some stuff out before I forget about it! Here are some random things I’ve learned, so far.

  • There are weird things in the Bible. Stuff that would be rated R if judged by movie standards. I can’t help but think, “What were they thinking?!?!?” and “Why did God want those details included in the Bible?” It’s enough to get me quite distracted. I recently completed the study Discerning the Voice of God by Priscilla Shirer, and she had great wisdom about studying the Bible. She advised to not try to understand every detail or apply every detail to our lives, but to see what a story or passage tells us about God. When we know God, we will know how to live. Ah ha! Here’s what some of the weird stories tell me: God uses people who do stupid things! I am not perfect, and never will be, but God is still working and can use me for His purposes.
  • Psalm 1 keeps coming back to me. Blessed is he who meditates on God’s Word day and night. (My paraphrase.) I’ve been doing my reading in the evening, and sometimes I don’t get much but the facts when I read. But, as I think about it during the night or next day or even several days later (a.k.a. meditating), I am able to learn something, understand something differently, see how something could be put into practice, etc.
  • Sometimes things are funny. In the midst of drastic cold weather around my parts, I read, “As long as the earth endures, seedtime and harvest, cold and heat, summer and winter, day and night will never cease.” (Genesis 8:22) Bummer! I was hoping winter could just disappear! 😉
  • I like Genesis 16:13 “Hagar said, ‘You are the God who sees me.'” It is awesome to have a God who sees us!

I’ve also learned a bunch of stuff about balance. I’m amazed, quite frankly, how much I have learned. But that is for another post!

Leave a Reply

