Psalm 1

On my first day of starting the reading through the Bible in a year, I read Psalm 1, and it tells me where I need to start to gain balance.

“Blessed is the man/woman … [whose] delight is in the law of the Lord, and on His law he meditates day and night. He is like a tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither. Whatever he does prospers.” Psalm 1:1-3

Balance starts with delighting in the Lord and meditating on His Word — daily. The verse also refers to yielding fruit in season. Plants are designed to produce fruit at certain times, but also to have times to grow or be dormant. I am the same way. I have times where I can bear fruit and “produce” but other times where I must learn, grow and be restored.

Interestingly, I was playing around with different layout designs for this blog and tried out this one with the tree photo at the top. [Editor’s note: Layout since changed.] After typing Psalm 1, I think I’ll stick with this. It can remind me that I must be like a tree that is firmly planted by the steams of God’s Word.

One thought on “Psalm 1

  1. Pingback: Who knew? « From My Pen

Leave a Reply

