My Word for 2014

It’s nearly the end of March, so it’s about time I wrote about my word for 2014. I remember standing in my bathroom in late December, brushing my teeth while scanning Twitter on my iPod. Multitasking at its finest. I saw someone post about their #OneWord and immediately thought, “Ugh! I haven’t even thought about a word for next year!”

It had been a hectic month. On top of the Christmas crazy, I had started a new part-time job. I was busy trying to figure out the new normal in my life. In the past I started thinking about my word in October. This time there had been zero thought process.

“Oh well,” I thought to myself, “I guess I won’t have a word this year.”

And then, as if God was saying, “Pssst … I have something for you,” a word popped into my head: small.

I feel like I should whisper this word — not how I felt like whispering the word dance a few years ago — but the whole purpose of this word isn’t flashy or newsworthy.

There have been many times over recent years where I have felt too small, as though I am not doing enough or having a big enough impact or tackling a big assignment from God. Each time, God reminds me that what this world values is not what He values.

Jesus entered the world as a baby. Small.

He resisted the crowds’ call for Him to become a political figure or powerful leader. Small.

He spoke of His Father being like a shepherd who leaves the flock of 99 to search for the one lost sheep. Small.

Like normal, once you pick a word, it shows up everywhere. Tsh Oxenreider wrote a post called “Small is the New Big.” Lisa-Jo Baker picked it as her word for Five-Minute Friday a few weeks ago. (And now that I’ve finally posted this, I need to go read all 252 posts. :) )

I’m not sure where this word will lead, but when a word pops into your head while you are brushing your teeth, you take notice. Here we go, small.

One thought on “My Word for 2014

  1. Pingback: What On Earth Am I Doing?!? | From My Pen

Leave a Reply

