Three Smiling Kids

I saw a new blog link up, and thought it would be fun to try. You know my history of linking up places … I am the Random Reporter, you know. :) This link up is called “Behind the Scenes.” We all like to post the nice, cute, happy things online, but maybe there is sometimes a bigger story than the nice, cute and happy. Here’s my story:

____________________________

The picture received a “Cuteness x3!” comment from Grandma, but the truth is the picture almost didn’t happen.

Monroe ParkThree smiling kids having a blast on an old-school merry-go-round — how could you NOT like this picture?

We drove to Des Moines Monday to have lunch with Grandma and Grandpa B., who were in town for an appointment. I wanted to make the most of the hour drive, but we didn’t need to shop, and we didn’t have a ton of time to go anywhere like the zoo or science center. So, my idea was to “park hop” on the way home. We would stop in the towns between Des Moines and home and see if we could find a fun playground in each one. The kids liked the idea, and agreed to four parks for 15 minutes each.

Park #1 was fun for a while, but then someone started crying. Park #2 was a similar story. Lots of bossy talk, stomping around mad and crying. I was done. “That’s it,” I said. “Let’s just go home. I have a lawn to mow and you have a room to clean.”

Thankfully, Angry Mom gave in to the pleas for one more chance, and Park #3 was perfect. Everyone had fun! No one was bossing anyone else around! No one was crying!

We stopped in Town #4, but it was too small for a park, other than the school playground. School appeared to be in session, so we kept driving. Someone had to use the potty, and everyone agreed we could just go home.

So, there you have it, the story behind the picture of three happy kids.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Three Smiling Kids

  1. I love knowing the background story here! Park hopping is a great idea, too. We’ve never tried that, so we’ll definitely be working on that.
    And old school merry-go-rounds?! Swoon!
    Stopping by from Crystal’s “Behind the Scenes” link.

  2. What a wonderful idea! I wish I would have thought of it when my kids were little. I guess I’ll get to try it on the grandkids (If I ever have any!) ;).

Leave a Reply

