Day 31: The Finish Line

Here we are at the finish line!

It’s been a good run! We’ve decided to run, worked through the training plan, come out of the dark, turned some corners, learned when to push through and when to take a break. We’ve gained inspiration, and learned how running can help others, too.

I was trying to come up with a big, super inspiring and motivational post for this last day. But the truth is, finishing is pretty inspiring, don’t you think?

I’ve always been great at starting things. Finishing them is another matter. I’m motivated by deadlines, which is a nice way of saying I’m a procrastinator. I put things off until the deadline is near, and then I have no choice but to work on them into the wee hours of the morning while the rest of my neighborhood sleeps. I’ve worked on countless school papers, 4-H projects, college projects and Christmas wrappings well past my bedtime. I frantically rush around cleaning the house just before party guest arrive. I may have still been stitching a certain Yoshi costume last week as my son wore it out the door for a Trick-or-Treating parade.

If something doesn’t have a deadline, it often remains unfinished. Such as a blog named randomreporter.wordpress.com. I started this blog and then quit this blog. I’ve restarted and renamed. I’ve wondered what I’m even doing. Yet this desire to write won’t leave me alone.

The 31 Days challenge has turned into my a training plan for writing. Like the Couch to 5K plan that taught me how to run, this 31 Days has taught me how to write. It gave me the deadline I needed. It gave me a story to pursue. And a team came along for the ride with more than 700 others participating in 31 Days and all of you who’ve read and commented.

On Day 6 I posted a quote from John Bingham, a man who learned how to run himself. “The miracle isn’t that I finished. The miracle is that I had the courage to start,” he said. And starting does take courage. We have no finish line if we don’t take off from the starting blocks. When we’re on Day 6 of our new journey, we gain motivation from our courage to start. But as we keep running, or writing, or painting, or organizing, or whatever it is you want to do more of, we reach the half-way point and it can start to overwhelm. We must adjust our focus from having the courage to start, and now dig deep to find the strength to finish.

And since we never fully arrive, this writing journey can’t stop either. After I finished the Couch to 5K plan the first time, I declared my accomplishment and said, “Now to keep from going back to the couch.” I don’t intend to write here everyday, but I do hope to be a little less random about posting here.

The best thing about crossing the finish line at a race is to see the others who have already finished clapping and cheering you on. I’ve crossed the finish line, grabbed my bottle of water and returned to cheer for you! Whenever you muster the courage to start your new thing, I hope this little series has provided some encouragement. And when you’re ready to quit, or feel like you are wasting your time in pursuing your new thing, that’s when I hope you remember to dig down deep and take things one step at a time. And whether you run or walk or write, there is joy in crossing the finish line! You can do it! Woo hoo! :)

4 thoughts on “Day 31: The Finish Line

  1. Pingback: Day 1: 31 Days of Learning to Run « It's the little things.

Leave a Reply

